Is It a Baby or an Alien?

I had my first doctor appointment this morning.  To be honest, I was a little nervous.  After all, it’s been almost 10 years since I’ve been pregnant AND I was seeing a completely new doctor.  It was a good experience, though.  My doctor is very nice, knowledgeable, and I like him a lot.  He’s also not ancient and reminds me of my last favorite OBGYN, who delivered Little Man.  Unfortunately, my old doctor is not a part of my HMO…which is good anyway, because his office is off of Rancho and it was usually filled with teenage patients on Medicaid who looked like they were scared shitless.  No wonder I was referred to him at 19.  Anyway. Current doctor.  He’s obviously of Indian decent, but has the persona of a beach-loving Californian…it’s odd.
Since this was my first appointment, I had massive amounts of paperwork and had to answer a million questions about my period.  I also had to pee in a cup, just like I will at every visit. Hopefully one day I’ll be able to do it without making a mess.  We aren’t  expecting any complications, since I didn’t have any with my other pregnancies.  The initial calculation has me at 8 weeks along with a due date of May 2.  I was given an ultrasound in order to get a measurement and a more accurate estimation of how far along I am, but the baby wasn’t in a good enough position to be measured.  Basically, it was a black circle (the sac) with a blurry spot near the edge of it (the baby).  According to the Mayo Clinic, this is my baby.

I swear it will be human.

 

Week 8: Baby’s eyes are visible

Eight weeks into your pregnancy, or six weeks after conception, your baby’s arms and legs are growing longer, and fingers have begun to form. The shell-shaped parts of your baby’s ears also are forming, and your baby’s eyes are visible. The upper lip and nose have formed. The trunk of your baby’s body is beginning to straighten.

By the end of this week, your baby might be about 1/2 inch (11 to 14 millimeters) long.

So, yeah…he’s ugly.  But loved!
We have another ultrasound in 2 weeks to try to get a better look and a better due date.  I find it hard to believe I’m already 8 weeks along…but whatever.
I had my first official craving today, also.  How do I know it was a craving?
Because as soon as I thought of it I wanted it, because I couldn’t think of anything else until I had it, and when I did get it, I ate it like it was the tastiest most fabulous food on the planet.
It was a meatball sub. 

I texted Mike before lunch that I wanted a meatball sub.  Actually, I used the phrase “a fucking meatball sub”.  Sweetheart that he is, he responded by saying that we could have a picnic in the park and get some Subway for dinner.  I said ok, but that I actually needed one NOW.  That’s how this works, because truthfully, come dinner time I’m probably going to want something totally different and the thought of a meatball could make me sick.  Mike is going to be fantastic (albeit a worrier) during this pregnancy and is going to spoil me to death…I’ll try my best not to let it go to my head.

One thought on “Is It a Baby or an Alien?

  1. Pingback: Is It a Baby or an Alien? « 360nomore

Leave a Reply

