Adventures of the Not-So-Horny

I used to think about sex all the time. As much as a man. Before my pregnancy I was horny on a constant basis.  I would think about sex at my desk and get myself so worked up that I would actually consider “relieving myself” in the bathroom. Yes…I did once.  I won’t do it again.  Coming out of the bathroom at work with your cheeks all flushed, wondering if everyone knew what you were doing (or worse, heard you somehow) is not comfortable.
So, now I’m pregnant and I rarely even think about sex.  I had one good week, I think, when my morning sickness was gone where I wanted it every day…but now…nada.  All the pregnancy websites and articles push that this is “totally normal”.  In fact, they push that whether you want sex all the time or don’t want it at all is “totally normal”.  But this is not normal for me.  It’s driving me insane. I’m sure it’s probably driving Mike insane. Poor thing. He used to be able to count on me to be ready to go anytime and now I’m like, eh.  I couldn’t care less whether we have sex. I’m comfortable going to bed in a long sleeve shirt, cuddling up in a blanket (because for whatever reason I am freezing 24/7), and having him hold me. Just. Hold. Me.
WHAT?!
It should not be like this. I should be reveling in my womanly baby-making body and doing my fiance with the vigor of a woman riding a stallion.

Are pregnant women even supposed to ride horses??

Instead, the prospect of going to bed with this thing got me all excited today. It’s got neck and hip support!!

:sigh:  I feel shitty. I feel like a bad partner.  Can’t I just shut my brain off? Evidently I’ve lost that ability as well. I probably just need a good orgasm.  Or to get a workout in and get a good dose of endorphins…and then have an orgasm.
Whatever hormone has turned my libido off during my first trimester had better bring it back full strength in these next few weeks or I may go postal.

2 thoughts on “Adventures of the Not-So-Horny

  1. I feel exactly the same way. I feel like I am a TERRIBLE partner. But the thought of anyone touching me for any reason makes me want to vomit. And then, thinking about vomit makes me want to vomit. And then I think, “really? Cheeseburgers are so much better than sex anyway.” WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO ME?!

Leave a Reply

