Rockabye Baby

Babies need to be entertained and soothed.  We, as parents, usually choose to sing to our children to feed this need.  If you don’t, then I’m just going to be honest here. You’re weird. Babies love music and they don’t give a crap what your voice sounds like.  Unless it’s like nails on a chalkboard, in which case, you may just need to keep your mouth shut to soothe your child.  I feel sorry for you in that case.

What do we do when we’ve sung our millionth rendition of Itsy Bitsy Spider, You Are My Sunshine, The Wheels on the Bus, or whatever repetitive children’s nonsense we could come up with and we just can’t take any more?  When our sanity is in question we will sing whatever we know some or all the words to.  It doesn’t matter what the words are…they don’t know what we’re saying, right?

This is what I was singing to Gummy the other night.  Other than Here Comes the Sun it seems to be her favorite.  It must be the way I get into it when I sing. Or the dancing. I can’t help but dance when I hear this song. It’s all about presentation, people.

What songs do you sing to your children?

2 thoughts on “Rockabye Baby

Leave a Reply

