Embracing The Ugly

“The reason we struggle with insecurity is because we compare our behind-the-scenes with everyone else’s highlight reel.”  ~ Steve Furtick

I saw this quote for the first time as I read the blog of one of my new followers and it has been stuck in my head ever since. I even have it written in my notebook. I wrote it down, not really knowing why it screamed out to me. Something just told me that I needed it. I’m not really one to look at others and wish I had what they had…or I’d like to think that I’m not. I think that Pinterest is one of the biggest perpetrators of our time in making us want things we don’t or can’t have. I still use the website, though.
I’m enlightened, you see. I realize that not all families are what they seem on the outside. I can look at things online and dream for a minute without obsessing over why I don’t have it or why I can’t get it. I can do it in Target, too. That makes me a super woman, if you ask me. I am an excellent window shopper and browser.

Then, last week, I got an email from Clickin Moms telling me about a new breakout session (it’s a cheaper, shorter version of a photography class) called “Let’s Get Real”. It is all about “digging deep, getting dirty, and embracing authenticity in your photography”. Basically, it’s about documenting yours and others actual life – not just the sanitized version. The baby running around in their underwear, the crazy dirty living room because your kids tore up the couch to build a fort, the dishes in the sink. The chaotic happiness of real life.
I thought about that quote that I had written and everything clicked.
I love this idea of documenting my unsanitized life the more that I think about it. I loathe the typical family portrait. Posed. Fake Happy. We see our old (and current) friends post these sorts of photos on Facebook…along with every other highlight from their reel. Only the good things, or on a good day the bad things that we ourselves can laugh at. It’s ok for other people to say “WTF?!” if we’re already laughing, too.

* * * *

I’ve been doing the same thing and didn’t realize it. Maybe not so much with my photography – since I’m still learning and growing, but definitely with my blog. I stopped sharing the ugly. There is so much wonderful in my life and I want to share that with you guys, but let’s face it…
I am the newlywed, stay at home mom of a teenage boy, a girl about to hit puberty, and a toddler. Shit gets way ugly around here.
I am going to be more authentic and go back to my blogging roots. I am going to portray my life as it actually is, and not only what I want others to see. The good, the bad, and the ugly (yep, I went there). When did I start caring what others think? I’m not sure, but it was probably around the time my belly, feet, and face started to swell – evidently, it has become a habit.

So, let’s get real.
We are about to embark on a journey full of blog-worthy moments. I think I need a bigger notebook.

I challenge you, reader, to do two things: (yes, there’s homework)

Go visit the website of Erika Ray. Sadly, she is not on WordPress (for shame!) but you can see her photography here. She also happens to be a phenomenal writer as well – for all you lovers of the written art.

Next, write a post. Share with us something that is going on with you that you might not normally share. Get it all out and don’t sanitize it. Include a picture, if you want. If you’re brave enough to share it, link to it in my comments! I would love to see!

7 thoughts on “Embracing The Ugly

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post: Let’s get Ugly | Front Porches and Candlelight

Leave a Reply

