Becoming a Man {1/365}

All images © 2013 Amanda Hildebrand

All images © 2013 Amanda Hildebrand

Anthony is almost 14. This picture was taken just before his 8th grade semi-formal yesterday, celebrating the end of an era. My big kid is going to high school in the fall and will be an even bigger kid.
He was so particular about his outfit being just right, us dropping him off in front of the school in just the right spot…and blasting some hardcore metal shit that Mike had in the CD player. I made them turn it down because I’m a buzz kill like that.
There are times when I look at him and he is changing into a man so quickly. Then, there are times like this morning – when he wakes up, comes and sits his gangly body in my lap, puts his head on my shoulder, and tells me he loves me. It’s nice to know my little boy is still in there somewhere.

4 thoughts on “Becoming a Man {1/365}

  1. Reblogged this on Southern Fried Chicken in Vegas and commented:
    Because, really, I need more projects. This is one that I can really get excited about.
    It’s the real me. Names and all. I’m shocking like that. Check it out. Follow it. Get daily photos in your inbox, even.
    Guess what?
    I love you. And I’m insane from exhaustion. And I’ll probably be blogging while riding in a mini-van to Salt Lake City and listening to my husband’s yacht rock music mix tomorrow.

  2. This just brought a tear to my eye. My son is twelve and will soon tower over me, but needs to hold my hand when he gets a shot. . . dammit, why do they have to grow up so fast??

    • I don’t know! Give him 6 months and he IS going to be taller than me. And his armpits are hairy. And he has an Adam’s apple. It makes me sad. Then the baby starts screaming or throws something into the toilet and I remember that I kin of like this mix of neediness and independence.

      • My boyfriend’s son, who is 4, just spent a week with us, and having both the boys there is like night and day. Made me quite melancholy for when my boy was 4. I miss that look of absolute amazement 4 year olds get on there face over everything!

Leave a Reply

