Teenager {21/365}

All images © 2013 Amanda Hildebrand

All images © 2013 Amanda Hildebrand

Anthony and I got to spend a little time together tonight while we picked up dinner and ran to the store. He did not want to have his picture taken. There was really great light inside the Little Caesar’s we were in and I almost got him to let me get a picture – until the cashier interrupted us with our pizza. So, I had to settle for the serious “are you done yet?” face outside.

On the way in, he grabbed a point and shoot that is in the van and said that he would be taking it to the concert he’s attending next week, but that he didn’t want to look like a dork. (He recently got his phone wet and ruined it. We are taking our sweet time getting him a new one.) I replied by telling him that it would be fine – that I took cameras to concerts all the time when I was a teenager, except I chose disposable ones. He looked at me like I was a lunatic.

“Yeah, mom, but that was before iPhones and camera phones…”

I didn’t want to tell him that it was before everyone had cell phones in general. That I had a pager and used pay phones. I know that this generation doesn’t know what a pager is…but do they even know what pay phones are? Truly?
This kid makes me feel old. In more ways than one.

Leave a Reply

